Programme

Belgian Museum of Freemasonry / formerly Hôtel Dewez (fully booked)

© Belgian Museum of Freemasonry

Long believed to be the home of great architect Laurent-Benoît Dewez, this elegant neoclassical town house, built between 1760 and 1770 to plans likely drawn up by Dewez himself, actually belonged to his mother-in-law. The complex underwent a major refurbishment from 2008 to 2011. The façade was returned to its harmonious white neoclassical appearance, while inside the building, the original spaces and dimensions were restored, as were the wallpaper, the panelling and the period decor. The stables behind the house, which are in line with the porte-cochère, were preserved and a gallery was added above them. Hôtel Dewez is a stunning example of the work of an architect who was trained in the neoclassical style by Carlo Marchionni and Luigi Vanvitelli in Italy and in Robert Adam’s studio in the United Kingdom. It is now home to the Belgian Museum of Freemasonry. (Listed since 13 February 1992)

Guided tours (hôtel Dewez), Sat. & Sun. at 14:30 (English), 10:30, 13:30 and 16:30 (French), 11:30 and 15:30 (Dutch).

Display of original wallpaper (subject to change).

sign-languageGuided tours in sign language in French for families and youth, Sun. at 11:00 and 14:00. In cooperation with Arts & Culture.

Practical information

Sat. & Sun., 10:00 to 18:00

Rue de Laeken/Lakensestraat 73-75, Brussels

Advance booking required

M
1 5 De Brouckère
T
3 4 De Brouckère
B
29 46 66 71 86 88 De Brouckère
Accessible

Accessible

Bookings

Choose your visit schedule, taking into account the language of the potential guided tours (duration: 30 min.)
fully booked
fully booked